More morning stuff

I like to be transparent with the boss. That is how I have worked before. I make things clear beforehand so that there are no last minute nasty surprises. I have been lucky with bosses who respect this way of working. In fact, if both are on the same side, this way works rather well. A good corporate structure is bound by processes and regulations that make this possible. However, the way our team has been working is unbecoming of the good reputation the organization enjoys. Today I got a taste of how poor managers can make life difficult. I am wary now. There are ways of dealing with this without compromising my personal time or integrity. I will make my way.

It was a a very busy day. Partly out of necessity and partly due to reasons above. I hadn't fully recovered from the cold. It was a good day to drive to work, but I was surprised to find the car had a flat tyre! And so, in the 45 degree heat I had to cycle. I took it slow and didn't for once think of the destination or my time. Honestly, the heat scared me. My temples were throbbing just a bit and the breathing wasn't relaxed.

In the evening, I had to visit a doctor for a medical certificate deeming me fit for the mountain biking trip. Waited in a queue, sweating profusely until the paediatrician (the only doctor available in the clinic) refused to sign on the form though I had detailed reports justifying perfect health! Instead he referred me to the Physician, who turned out to be his wife. So, I had to find my way to their home where she checked the blood pressure, breathing and tonsils before signing on the form. There was a kind of passive dullness about the doctor, but I am glad she was diligent and cooperative.

Now for some packing. Some eating. There is just a bit of uneasiness though, at the work I need to complete by tomorrow. The ad hoc nature of it, coupled with the expectations make this challenging in ways, I couldn't care less about.

Have been reading Memoirs of a Geisha for a couple of days in whatever little time I can find in the morning. Had planned to pick this quite some time back but I wasn't too keen on fiction at that time. I like how descriptive the book is, so full of the little things a child observes. But with some dose of cruelty as well. It creates a different world in all its detail and I find it's escapist quality a need of the hour. Of course, in the hills it won't be a suitable read. It should be poetry, there.

Was reading a poem by Shel Silverstein today that had moved me long time back. I had seen in it layers of meaning, much truth and beauty. But today I couldn't penetrate its skin. I stood against a closed door and stared into the opaque. The poem didn't let me in, didn't wrap me in that embrace only poetry can. It turned me away from the door like a stranger...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.