Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Old Churches Week - Day 2 - Garmerwolde

The week of old churches is proving to be more challenging than I thought. Photographing a church takes a certain distance to avoid barrel distortion. An alternative is to take several shots and stitching these together. I actually wanted to do the latter, but failed because one of the shots turned out to be unfocused, something I didn't notice when I was at the scene. Since I didn't have the time to return to the scene I had to resort to correcting the barrel distortion. I obviously need some more experience to make this work somewhat better...

The Reformed Church in Garmerwolde is a Romano-Gothic cruciform church. Close to the church, and considered to be part of it, is a tower (not visible in this shot). It was built somewhere between 1275 and 1300. Despite plans to completely demolish it, only the nave of the church was taken down in 1859. The church was renovated during World War 2, but the nave was never rebuilt.

The tower contains a bell that was made in 1604 and the mechanical clockwork dates back to the beginning of the 17th Century.

The week of old churches started here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.