Plus ça change...

By SooB

The Long Goodbye

This wasn't supposed to be my blip. This was just a quick snap, to be followed by a nice walk with lots of blip opportunities. But the day took over, as days do at the moment, and there was no time for a walk. Or any better shots.

A morning of baking for the school fair on Saturday, until I ran out of unsalted butter. I bet all small villages in France have unsalted butter for sale*. But not here. Here all butter (and there were six different brands on offer in various shops) was salted. Not so good for baking.

So I moved on to the garden, to pot up some of my overgrown seedlings for the school fair. Turns out that out of the "average contents 100 seeds" packet of tomatoes, I have 86 plants. Wouldn't mind so much if I liked tomatoes.

Then off to school for the Parent Council meeting - my last. Everyone was terribly nice about how great I'd been as Chair - even though I don't really think I've done much at all. I suppose at least my being Chair meant they didn't have to do it, which is something! We had a local Councillor there tonight, which helped the dynamic of the meeting I think: it can sometimes feel a bit like everyone against the Head Teacher. The real problem of course is with funding - which is not the Head's fault, but everyone needs a villain and as she works for the Council she ends up on the receiving end of a lot of unmerited criticism.

But at least this year we seem to have a better working relationship between Parent Council and school. No-one has taken over as Chair so I'm stuck with the job until we leave.

I'll miss this community, but not the admin that goes with it!


*Obviously that's not true: most small villages in France don't have shops any more, just visiting vans, but in my idyllic idea of the French village - the kind I'm going to move to - you can barely move for tripping over authentic shops selling wonderful local unsalted butter. Unless you want to buy it between 12noon and 3pm. When they'll be closed for lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.