OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Congestion

The Brough of Birsay was packed today, as can be seen here.

I was up at 5'15 to head out west. I walked from Skara Brae to the Brough; looking out for orca all the way. No luck. By ten, I was sheltering from a polar wind and driving rain in the old fishermens' huts at Sand Geo. But it soon cleared up and the rest of the day was pretty sunny.
Lots of wildflowers: thrift, spring squill, sea campion, red campion, primrose, birds-foot trefoil, scurvy grass etc. I think I prefer 'spring squill' to scurvy-grass'.
When I got to the Brough, there must have been thirty people wandering around! Glad it had cleared up for them. Twice people approached me, camera and binocular laden, and I knew what they were about to ask...where might they get close views of puffins? I could point out where I'd just seen some, but they were unlikely to get very close. I think those postcard shots come from the smallest, quietist islands where you can get close to the wee beasties.
More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.