Project Oranjer

By oranjer

Ancient Stones

Headed out to this place at lunch time today. Again, I didn't have my camera but went home to get it! It's some ancient standing stones in Newbridge, near Edinburgh. I used to drive past these almost daily when traveling home from university years ago and I had no idea they were here. And yet, as one of my colleagues said while we there - they've been there for a while!

I took a few shots from different areas but the place is surrounded by a busy motorway and industrial park. The clouds were great again today though so I tried to make the best of them. I was going to try a wee bit of HDR so I took multiple exposures but they were hand-held and a wee bit off. I only have Elements so it's not real HDR either and it didn't look right - if I let PS do the work the exposure was OK but the pictures were just a couple of pixels out (because of no tripod). When I tried to do it myself, it was worse ;-).

So, instead, a wee bit of dodging and burning. My first time dodging and burning and I'm quite pleased. I reckon if I did it again it'd be better but this is good enough for today. I'll definitely be back here with The Boy and his mum (she likes this kind of thing) so there may be more shots of this place on here in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.