a town called E.

By Eej

On a clear day ...

... you can see forever.

We're back. A bit worse for wear after a loooooong day made even longer by the fact that our plane from Washington first was missing a rather essential part of its nose (nice) so that steering was impossible, and second was delayed half an hour due to bad weather (twice as nice). And we just stood on the runway and waited.

I wish I was still back 'home'.
Somehow I feel more myself there, which is unsurprising really, when you think about it. People have known me for such a long time that I don't have to prove myself, explain myself, or bite my tongue when someone says something I find offensive. I like being around people with a core of like-mindedness, and I have found a few good ones here, but most of the culture is almost alien to me. Still. The guns, the religious fanatics, the hunting, oh, I could go on and on ... it upsets me, but I've been trying to live with it. With intermittent success :)
And now I feel like I have to start over again.

I have promised myself, though, to stay truer to myself. That will most likely not make me a whole lot of friends, but I'll be able to look myself in the eyes. I'm also going to make my dreams come true. Just watch me.
Surprising, what happens when you're away from it all, and high up in the air :)

So, so tired now. Must. Sleep.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.