La vida de Annie

By Annie

Wedding shoot

Unlike yesterday the weather today was pants, and soggy ones at that. I tried to look professional by wearing smart black trousers and a waistcoat over a purple silk blouse, and asked #1 daughter if I looked the part, or would I be mistaken for a waitress? Not with that big f***-off camera round your neck you won't, she said.

My stint at the church was spent up in the organ-loft where I could get a view of the whole interior, although getting up there in unaccustomed heels, via a narrow spiral staircase and lugging two cameras, tripod, heavy accessories bag, handbag, mac and brolly was not easy. Towards the end I realised I had set the WB to auto and everything was coming out with an orange glow, but losing much of my hearing by being stood next to the organ pipes took the edge of any remaining anxiety and I finally started to mellow a bit.

Next up was the reception in the docklands area, with a stop en route to shoot the couple against the backdrop of the Liverpool riverfront skyline with its iconic buildings. A gust of wind blew the bride's veil off and almost into the water but her new husband did a rugby save and caught it just in time. The reception had an Everton FC theme, with a lot of blue, each table named after a famous player, and the placecards shaped like blue football shirts each bearing a guest's name. Contra to my expectations of a Liverpool wedding, there were no punch-ups (which would have made good shots) and it was a wonderful atmosphere with everyone radiating happiness for the lovely young couple. I can't really blip any of the shots I took of the wedding as it would be unprofessional to do that (ooo - hark at me!) so you're stuck with one of the ancient organ which deafened me for an hour instead.

Well thank goodness that's over, and of the 609 pictures I took I think there are more than a handful which may photoshop up well. Highly stressful, bloody hard work, and a really long day, especially when everyone else gets to eat and drink but you. Worth it though just to know you've added a little something to the day for them, when they look at the memories we captured for them today. Just don't ask me to do it again in a hurry though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.