Around the Block

By Barrioboy

Mies van der Rohe Pavillon

Decided to walk the 20 minutes to the Mies van der Rohe Pavillon, built as the German Pavillon for the 1929 International Exhibitiion., and which I have discovered only recently .

It is a fabulous place to be; these things are very personal but I feel a calmness in this space in a way which I have only felt in two other places; the Temple of Philae on the Upper Nile, and the raised platforms on which the Sydney Opera House stands. In fact, I will cautiously share that in all three places I hear the same music in my head; it's as if they trigger a submerged musical composition ability which is completely absent in my every other single waking moment!! Now, you can send for the men in white coats...

PS
I did a bit of 'slice' cropping as I like the lines, and as with yesterday's shot, I went for one with a little bit of human interest...knowing how Blip presents 'slice' crops, I would recommend viewing in LARGE!


Link to the Pavillon site, if you want to see more...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.