Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Soft hand, hard water

And so to escape the cabin fever from Mama trying to spring clean the house today whilst looking after the boys, when Reuben fell into another rare afternoon nap on the sofa, I took Callum outside in the garden and tried to avoid looking in the direction of Reuben's bedroom round the corner which was now open to the elements in construction. The rusty outside tap was a nice compliment to the rebar sitting in my flower beds. It was good to see Callum back to being the true water baby that he is, cunningly watching me at the tap and trying to figure it out for himself. Well, I guess I just had to show him how and don't you just love how these rusty old taps spray!

I used to be obsessed with taking pics of Reuben's hands and feet as a baby: how lovely to revisit with Callum.

And because I didn't decide which of these I prefered, though the drops in 7991 and 8017 I rather like, and Callum's soaking body is priceless, I chose the most different for the blip.

PS I thought I'd get my 3 Unstaged out of the way otherwise I'd bother myself silly with what I should try to capture and therein with too much thought, out goes the promise of the moment and its spontaneity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.