Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Life

Life.

The first gift we give to our children. The second a name. The third a future.

I cannot think beyond the pain endured to have Reuben and Callum, the ache in my heart to give Reuben a future, to fight for it every step of the way through every roadblock, to come out singing through the rafters for the joys achieved by each little miracle.

To deprive children, irrespective of health or frailty, of that future, can one imagine a greater sin?

It is hard for me most poignantly now to rid my mind of these thoughts with the recent event which haunts me deeply, that which grotesquely betrays the closest bond that exists in life, each a heartbeat away from being the same person. The paradox is incomprehensible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.