Sunset On A Tragedy.

The sun sets on another tragic day in our lovley county. Last week we were shocked by the accidental death of schoolchildren and an adult when a school bus overturned at Keswick. Today we are horrified to hear of the carnage in West Cumbria where 12 innocent people were shot dead and 25 others seriously wounded by an indiscriminate gunman.

Whitehaven was the town where I was born, my church gardens formed the backdrop for this horrendous scene shown on the news. I was born there and spent my first 18 years living on a road now included as one of the 30 crime scenes as a gunman drove down the west coast shooting from his car window. He was later found dead in the small village of Boot.

I know every place and every street shown on the national news tonight, the taxi rank was where I used to stand, waiting to meet my friends on a Saturday afternoon. My heart goes out to all the families who set out on a sunny day in the school holiday, not knowing how it was to end.

My thoughts are with you,

Susan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.