Emily L. J. Boyd

By eljb

Lilac Love

Still not sure about a new series of blips, but thought I'd photograph what is probably my favourite flower in the garden. The Lilac.

We have 6 lilac trees in our garden I think. A dark purple one, a white one and lots of pale lilac ones and they all came from my mums grandparents gardens. The purples from Belgium via my granny gran (mums, mums, mum) and the white from my great grandfathers garden.

I love that, that there's this history with them. And I plan to take cuttinsg with me whenever I have somewhere to plant them. I couldn't imagine a garden without them or their lovely smell in the evening. Plus they've been absolutely gorgeous this year, all of them have more flowers on them than I've seen in years, but this one has so many huge flower heads on it that it's had to be strung up to try and support it.

It's a shame the flowers will go over soon, it's always too quick :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.