Moments

By togrrrl

Blipping Bees

I never knew bees were so much fun to watch and so hard to photograph. You can take hundreds of pictures of them without getting even one in focus. Those blippin' bees...


I got sidetracked by this patch of purple flowers. So many bees were buzzing around and the longer I watched, the more I saw!

- Bumble bees, flying heavily from flower to flower, not following any pattern.

- A big, fat, gray and black striped bee that traveled alone. And attached any bumblebee that came close. Bee fight!

- Honey bees with their bulging pollen sacs like panniers on a bicycle.

- And this beautiful iridescent green bee who took its time sopping up the nectar.

I wonder where they have found homes in this city? They must have hives and holes somewhere in the insect netherworld around us. I'm glad they are around.

Oh, and for the journal part of my blip: busy but boring day at work, no lunch break, volunteer board (not bored) meeting tonight where I felt that I actually made a small contribution. It's amazing what a civil and polite leader can do to make meetings bearable.

And now I will fall exhausted into bed with a short detour on the couch to watch TV till my brain turns to mush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.