Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Palm & Clouds

I didn't manage to get out for my photographic walk until late this afternoon. No, I didn't oversleep again. In fact, I was up early because an important package was scheduled to arrive today.

It finally turned up at 12:30. The next two hours were spent waiting for the battery to charge and and a further hour on top of that reading the manual. Yes, you've guessed it -- I have a new camera.

A tax rebate from the IRS and some money left over from Christmas allowed me this indulgence. I have been looking to replace the Leica D-Lux 3 for quite some time. The Leica is a fine little camera, don't get me wrong, but it is something of a one-trick pony. If the light is good, it produces excellent results, but don't even think about going above ISO 100.

The Ricoh GRD III is a complex instrument and it is going to take some time to work everything out and get the best from it. My initial impression is that it is rather like shooting with a mini DSLR, with various controls just a fingertip away, rather than having to scroll through menus.

So here is my first offering with the GRD III, taken on a short walk around the block.

I think I am going to have a lot of fun with this camera over the coming years.

B&W conversion in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.