without whom

The planned thingby for the assignment failed miserably so will be re-attempted tomorrow when I don't have to rush out. Luckily I went the long way home over the crags and round the hill where the locals, tourists and students were beginning to observe an uneasy truce and picked up some spares.

I did wonder about using that as an assignment-picture and probably would have done had I not just missed the girl on the right taking a picture with her mobile. I briefly posted the initial choice early this morning but took it down when I go to work after failing to sufficiently mull the associated speakings on the way in. Whilst I am glad that I've been able to allow myself to slow down and not post on the date taken no matter how late I get to sleep it does sometimes scupper the chances of remembering any of the precise wording of the musings accompanying the taking of the picture. The gist is usually remembered but without the feelings the scene itself set up it takes too long to get back into the mindset in which the thoughts were thought and sorted. I think I need to clear a little space in my camera bag again for my old-tech but querty-tappy-tastic Jornada 680 to enable the recording of thinkings on the move. I did briefly try doing something similar with a notebook but can't write fast enough tidily enough to make it worthwhile.

The evening's entertainment took the form of the eating of foodstuffs at Maxie's on Victoria Terrace with Alan and the ever-bashful Rodti who (as usual) made complaining noises when his picture was taken. I think it would be a nice picture if he wasn't bloody scowling. Ah well; if he doesn't like it he can easily delete it seeing as it's hosted on his webspace or just do as Alan did and waft his head around quickly enough to prevent a decent picture in the low light.

Whilst we bade Alan farewell outside the pub a presumed-student-youth trundled past extremely slowly on a skateboard. Whilst I haven't been on one for about eighteen years I could at least do basic stuff like turn and go up and down kerbs; this bloke stopped and picked up the board to get down a kerb and was going so slowly that we caught up with him round the corner even walking at Rodti's strangely-slow-for-his-height pace. I expected his board to be brand-new as befitted his evident beginnerness but it was sufficiently worn to be secondhand. Still, as a studently affectation it was a lot less embarrassing than some of the clothing sported by this year's fresher crop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.