A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

I'm Flying!!

Plop!

Hilda is the most photogenic of my flock. She's also the most entertaining. Although Beatrice is watching and learning. Today I found a millipede in the kitchen and I realized that it could be a nice little protein snack for the girls. It was a bit odd to find this millipede on my counter top, but considering the fact that a construction crew is pounding on the walls, ripping siding off, it probably just got misplaced and lost its way, ending up in my kitchen. So I carried the millipede on a spoon, covered with the tines of a fork, into the back room where the chicks are in temporary housing. I dropped the arthropod into the 'pen' and Betty snatched it up while Barbara chased after her. This riled them all up and they began chasing Betty all over, up, around, and behind the feed and water containers. Well, this gave me an idea.

Next thing I knew I was out digging in the garden for worms and earwigs and whatever creepy crawly thing I could dig up. I tried to keep it small because these girls are young and I wasn't sure what they could handle, but I figured if they were outside scratching around in nature, they'd probably be eating up anything that moved. I was right. It was great fun watching them fight over worms and bugs, I'll be doing this at least daily from now on. In a few weeks they'll be living out there on their own and at least I'll know that they're ready to fend for themselves (they're mama taught them well, 'bawk, bawk').

The house is nearly naked of siding now and has had lots of rotted wood repaired. It's covered in Tyvek (water-proof paper wrap) and they'll soon be putting up the new stuff. It'll be pretty as a picture soon. And no doubt will become a picture here in blipland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.