Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Mr. Distractable!

That would be my son, who was supposed to be getting ready for bed.

"Henry! HENRY! HENRY!" And of course he was upstairs, wet and semi-naked, sprawled on the bed with his nose in a book. It could just as easily have been with his nose buried in a K'nex box, or a lego box or simply doodling. He is one big daydream and has no concept of time. Getting cross with him doesn't help (not that it stops me of course ;-). If I shout he just looks wounded and can't understand my frustration. Sometimes he says, "Sorry mummy," looks contrite for half a second then says something random like..."Guess how many rings Saturn has?"

Mostly I try to chill out about his lack of urgency...he does do things eventually...in his own time. What does make me smile is when my husband gets frustrated with him...he's more distractable than H!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.