Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Only Petals Remain

I have a flower in my back yard that resembles an iris but its petals are bright yellow splashed with orange.

The previous two afternoons, it has been on the verge of flowering and sure enough, when the sun has gone down, the flowers have unfurled. But lit only by the light on the back deck, I don't get to enjoy the full beauty and eagerly look forward to seeing it in its full glory the next day.

Unfortunately, on both mornings, today included, by the time I get out on the back deck, the flower has been eaten by squirrels. I kid you not. I have witnessed them doing it. The flower is level with the rail on the deck and thus conveniently placed for Tufty and his pals.

This morning all that was left is what you see in this photograph.

If anyone knows the name of this flower, please let me know. I did a search on Google and found three images that matched my flower but in each case it was simply described as "Yellow and Orange Flower".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.