Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Italy's Starter

I got out early to beat the heat, 96 degrees again today, in Riverside, and also get things done before this afternoon's World Cup game between Italy and Paraguay.

Considering it was Italy's opening match in their group, the Italian flag flying outside the Primi Piatti restaurant, on Park Street, seemed an appropriate subject.

To be honest, any creativity that I may have seems to have melted away in the prevailing heat. I sense it is going to be a long hot summer and if these temperatures are being replicated in the middle of the Atlantic, it won't be too long before the first hurricane of the season is heading in my general direction. Can't wait for that! :-)

Caught a bit of the Holland v Denmark game first thing and was pleasantly surprised to see Thomas Sorensen, Stoke City's goalkeeper, in goal for Denmark. I thought a wrist injury had ruled him out of the World Cup. I guess it must have healed sooner than expected.

So at least my club, Stoke, does have a presence in the World Cup Finals, albeit shortlived. I cannot see Denmark progressing to the quarter-final stage.

Carl Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.