A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

The Ark

Chicken Ark in the UK - Chicken Tractor in the US. It's not something you'll see in the country or on a farm. This is a mobile chicken coop geared more for suburbia or urban areas where it's necessary to keep chickens confined but still allow them to free-range a bit. The girls are three weeks old now and are enjoying time in their outdoor coop. I swear they grow faster when they've spent the day out scratching and nibbling on natural things. They stay inside during the night hours until they get a bit more feathered-out. I'm so afraid for their safety outside at night even though they should be inside the hen house with the door safely closed. We haven't fully tested the automatic door and so we'll see what happens. Yesterday was the first day my Taxman made a temporary ladder for them to climb into the house and we were happy to see that late in the day they had climbed the ladder but did not go inside the house.

Our weekend with the grandkids was hectic and chaotic of course. We had some unbelievable laughs. Owen tells me I'm his best friend (must be a pre-school thing) and he gives the best hugs and kisses. I sure wish he didn't bounce out of bed in the morning though. At 6 a.m. it's like a switch is turned on. "Nana, wanna see me hop on one leg? Nana, wanna see me hop on the other leg? Nana, wanna see me do jumping jacks?" All that while I'm trying to muster the energy to climb out of bed. Oh to have a four year old's energy level...

Note: That towel on the ground in front of the door is where I zen-out while watching them. I don't care what the neighbors think of me, the weird chicken lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.