Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Friends

I don't usually blip pictures of people. I certainly don't usually blip pictures of me, since I can't imagine anyone would want to look at my rather weird and distinctly gap-toothed face. I certainly don't like looking at it much.

However, this picture really sums up what has been a wonderful wonderful day, the day I got to meet the lovely @SelenaGovier and her superb husband. Selena is the pretty blonde with the neat teeth and I'm the one with the mad specs!

I can't remember exactly how we first "met" online - we are friends/followers/subscribers on facebook, twitter and here on blipfoto (where she is known as Snowysel). We hit it off online and I was delighted when she said she'd be in my part of the world as part of her "Great Escape".

So, having checked her twitter background to see what colours she likes, I put on one of my best purple t-shirts (I once wore purple to meet someone who then said they didn't like purple - didn't want to make that mistake again) and headed off to meet her in a coffee shop in a nearby town.

Hugs all round were followed by 4 solid hours of conversation, punctuated only by coffee drinking and cake eating. None of us the slightest bit awkward, none of us lost for words. We also coined the phrase "touch cake", which is like "touch wood" only more so!

Having been only slightly nervous this morning, I came home high as a kite (in a good way)! So wonderful to have met such a lovely person. I really hope I can take the Wonderspouse to meet my lovely new friends soon - a trip to the land of pasties and clotted cream is definitely in order!

So, yet again, I've made a new friend through the internet. There are those who say that the internet cuts down face-to-face personal communication between people. This is certainly not the case where I am concerned. Thanks to the internet I spent today out of the house, having a great time with lovely people. Without it I'd probably have just stared at the TV!

Fabulous day. Thanks so much Bird. Big hugs to you both! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.