Moments

By togrrrl

G20 or gulls and politicians

Toronto is hosting the G20 this weekend and it feels like the inmates have taken over the asylum.

I have to show my work pass to the security guard who knows me by sight. There are people walking around with bullet-proof vests everywhere. And they are spending over 1 billion dollars to host a bunch of politicians in a locked rooms somewhere who will issue pronouncements, hold press conferences and accomplish nothing.

So, these gulls (20 of them, count 'em) put me in mind of G20 politicians and crazy people everywhere. So here goes, what do the G20 and these gulls have in common? (Forgive me for this, I'm not a comedian.)

1) They are jockeying for position.
2) They make lots of noise but don't say very much.
3) They all look and act the same.
4) They thrive on garbage.
5) They act only in their own self interest.
6) They go into a feeding frenzy at the least sign of a handout.
7) They poop everywhere.
8) They aren't the smartest creatures on the planet.
9) They try to make themselves look big in front of their rivals.
10) Nobody likes them very much.

Wow, I actually made it to 10!

In other news, I sadly said goodbye to Bighill this morning. Our visit was just getting started and she had to leave.

My day went further downhill when I slipped on a piece of oily lettuce in the cafeteria and fell down. And I was wearing my white pants. How does that happen?

And to top it all off, a glue sniffing street person sat down beside me in the subway and proceeded to sniff his glue soaked rag. I didn't know whether to move and risk his wrath or sit there and get high myself.

I chose the latter. To steal a phrase from Raheny_eye, Niiice.

But I'm home now and I had a great evening meeting with the school's greening committee and tomorrow is another day in the crazy place that is Toronto.

Thank you for the faves and stars and wonderful, heartwarming comments on the last few blips. They were very personal to me so it means a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.