FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

Save water, shower with a friend

This little charmer was waiting on the bathroom mirror for me, when I went to turn on the shower. So as it turns out, I still haven't showered... I spent 10 minutes trying to get a half decent photo... I'm still not sure I succeeded, but in my 14 days experience of SLR photography, this is my first attempt at mirrors and beasties together. It's a mirrored wall (that we inherited when we moved in, we didn't chose it) and the lil critter was so high up I had to use live view (which I generally try to avoid).

Can somebody remind me if this is a Jenny Long-legs or a Daddy Long-legs? I know one has the shorter, pointier, body like this and the other has the longer tapered body, but can't remember which way round it is. I seem to recall the longer tapered body being Daddy, which would make this Jenny. Or maybe I've just revealed my ignorance of the insect world, and this is neither.

What are these called in other countries?

It's going to be a strange weekend. I'm working loads Fri/Sat/Sun, then travel to essex on Sunday straight from work, for a funeral on Monday. I therefore suspect there will be lots of back-blipping, as I may struggle to get online.

Have a great weekend, everybody :)


~~~Update~~~
Note to self: patience is a virtue. The little blighter stayed all the way through my shower. When the mirror steamed up, it would've been a much better shot. The Reflection was still there, but more of a shadow, but the overall shot would've been much clearer. Just in too much of a rush to blip before work. Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.