horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Friday Blow-Out

What a day... Busy from the word go and almost an entire day spent on the phone and discovering things about certain aspects of the past of the business that make a lot of sense and at the same time are utterly ridiculous and make you realise where it all went wrong...

But more appreciation from my boss (and others) made it all a bit more bearable, as well as a lunchtime whingefest with one colleague. But the day was rounded off nicely getting home. Out to buy a few beers, and a barbecue in the garden followed by cigar and whiskey (a special edition Talisker providing an excellent smokey counterpoint). The cigar was about thirteen years old, the last of a box bought by Mel on a holiday in Mexico, and probably the first in about 6 years that I've enjoyed. Which could fit in with the simple pleasure from a few days ago (rediscovering old peasures, though cigars are also a very rare pleasure - maybe 6 in my life...).

But the simple pleasure for today, the penultimate of the week before I probably rediscover my ranting streak, is a bit different. Watching musicians. Watching? Surely you mean 'listening to' don't you Anth? Nope. Watching. Last night we were at the Usher Hall to see the Royal Scottish National Orchestra for some classical-lite. Entertaining (and free, courtesy of 'itison'). The sound was great, but I love watching the movement; the differing styles; it's great to see the people as they have nothing to do sitting back and either drinking in the music, or picking at their fingernails; that stabbing into the air of a couple of dozen violin bows in perfect unison.

Any musicians will do. Perhaps it's a jealousy... I love music and would love to play, but never had the dedication, that stubborn streak with a piece that I just can't quite nail - my ability extended simply to a bit of a jam on the blues harp (harmonica if you prefer), and at one time I had four or five in different keys.

Maybe one day.

Now, if you don't mind I should really head off out into the tent in the garden where I'm spending the night listening out for trouble from the chickens after moving them in together for the first time properly. There is likely to be more on that tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.