A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Chicken Personalities

Beautiful Beatrice (she's the prettiest one right now) and her Orpington siblings are as cool as cucumbers, while Hilda (still magnificent IMO) and hers (Wyandottes) are shy and cautious. I was able to reach in and give Beatrice a few scratches on her chest and back today while she stood quietly and seemed to enjoy it. Hilda no longer comes to me with reckless abandon like she did for the first few weeks. She does however come up to me and look longingly in my eyes as long as my eyes and hands are on the other side of the wire. I know she still loves me it's just some kind of chicken personality that causes her to be cautious. I don't blame her.

Pulled weeds in a 50 x 10 foot flower bed this afternoon. Mostly waist high prickly thistles, which makes me want to swear, but I won't. Got a blister on the palm of my shovel hand, which also makes me want to swear, but I won't.

Life is good. Right this moment. It is. I swear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.