Flying-leap

By flying

Winter on the Avon River

Today was Day 3 of Jury Service

I pulled out the drive 6mins later than yesterday and I won't do that again.  There was more traffic and yes I got held up.  I wasn't late, thankgoodness, but the 6mins made all the difference to the enjoyment of my travel.  Thick cloud coated my town and the city of Christchurch but further inland I could see a soft mellow orange glow just lighting up the snowy mountains - it looked stunning.

Today I progressed onto Stage 2.  My named was called and I went through to the court.  There was probably about 30 others with me, of which they only need 12.  My name was not called during this procedure so I could go home but I learnt that others had been called everyday and sat as Jurors everyday and were expected to come back for the rest of the week, there goes my theory of perhaps doing a trial and saying goodbye to the whole thing.  I will make my phone call after 5.30pm tonight to see if I'm required to go again tomorrow.  I must say I was shaking in my shoes when in court as this was just out of my comfort zone of which I had become accustomed to.

I wandered round the city and took some photos but I was a bit disappointed when I got home and looked at them on the computer. Above we have another scene of the Avon River with the back view of former Municipal Chambers which was built in 1887.  It is a Queen Anne design and was unlike any other building in the city which was dominated by conventional Gothic and Renaissance Revival style buildings. Also there is a memorial to Kate Sheppard and the women who worked so hard for women's suffrage just in front of this building, I think you can just make it out.

Again its nearly time for our evening meal and I have nothing prepared.  I will come back later in the evening to do my comments, hope your've had a great day or about to :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.