My Angle

By myangle

Dad hanging out laundry

Dad slept in this morning, which is a good thing because I only got home from work at 1am. When he did finally arise it took me from 9.30 till 11 to get him showered, dressed and eating breakfast. Nothing happens in a hurry with Dad. I had entertained the idea of taking him out to do some shopping, just to get him out of the house. Unfortunately we ran out of time. Taking him to the shops would have taken at least 2 hours and I had to think about getting ready for work. Jo will head along there shortly and will go for a walk with him and the dog and hopefully take him shopping herself. Mind you, she has had a full day of work too. Luckily we both do different shifts.

I don't mind the fact that Dad takes so long with everything. For some reason I have infinite patience with him. I have found over time that giving him simple tasks to do can keep him busy and happy for hours and gives me some time to focus elsewhere. Andy also reckons it is good for his self-esteem being able to do some things himself.

I tried to catch up on an hours sleep before heading off to work. It wasn't to be. I had just nodded off when I heard Dad wandering around the house opening drawers and cupboards, muttering away to himself. I got up to see what he wanted. He was looking for something but couldn't remember what. I eventually managed to decipher that he needed his teeth. It took a bit of back tracking but we got there and his teeth where exactly where they were supposed to be, in the bathroom.

When he looks for something, it becomes a spiral. He will pick up other things, get distracted, put them away and, yes, lose them too. We have all learned to slow the process down, but have also all experienced hours of looking for his wallet or glasses. He hides them in the most amazing places.

I am trying to paint Dad's condition in a dignified light this week. To know him and chat with him you wouldn't at first know he is suffering for dementia. He is a very intelligent man who likes a chat, even if it doesn't always make a lot of sense.

My link for the day. Moving traffic at night, done well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.