Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

The Oracle in Orange ...

... or From Liverpool to Liverpool Street.

I had spoken to my beloved earlier in the afternoon and as a consequence, was dreading my return home from this point onwards. Don't get me wrong, I was eager to return and see my girls again, but the getting there wasn't to be pleasant - it was a baking day darn sarf.

My journey from Merseyside is divided by a trip across London and the divide couldn't be greater.

The leg from Liverpool to London takes just over 2 hours, in a modern, air-conditioned, spacious, wi-fi enabled, laptop power supplied and fast carriage. Marvellous!

The final leg from London to NE Essex takes just over an our in an old, smelly, un air-conditioned, no window opening, hot and slow carriage which would be better served being marvelled at in a museum.

So I took the chance to delay the National Express experience, stand and watch the hundreds looking for a signal from the orange oracle and reflect on my experience with Virgin Railways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.