Bag

It's strange how accepting we are here once contentious issues become law. It happened with the smoking ban, which led to heated discussions and acrimonious debates when it was first mooted but was then accepted and almost embraced when it found its way onto the statute books.

Something similar happened in the case of the plastic bag levy. Opposition wasn't by any means as strong as in the case of the smoking ban, but there were still some interests who lobbied against it. Once that became law, it didn't take long for everyone to accept it without question and to buy reusable bags instead of paying the levy. I still feel a little bit self-conscious walking to the local shop with one of these tucked under my arm, but it does have its compensations -- especially when I catch a glimpse of it sitting on the sheet of backing paper I hadn't put away since last week and think it'd make a handy standby blip.

I did get out and about and fitted in a decent walk after the Wimbledon men's singles final (a shame Tomas Berdych wasn't able to put up a better fight), but nothing which ended up in the camera from that time proved any better than this shopping bag. Ah well ...

p.s. I'm surprised to notice that I've had display of EXIF data turned off for the past few weeks. I've no idea how that happened, but it's switched back on now (not effective until tomorrow).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.