D77

By D77

Leaving so soon?

Everyone must have a camel. It's the law!

Well, that's the first year out the way. It's been a very difficult year for a number of reasons, and there's no getting away from the fact that this place must be suffered again. It's a shithole, of that there is no doubt, but I've earned the right to say that, having lived, and more importantly, worked here, for an entire academic year. (You will never truly understand the meaning of beaurocracy until you work in a place like Cairo.) That said, the second year in Oman was far easier than the first, and I'm hoping that will be the case here, albeit only if I drastically lower my expectations (as in to having none at all) of this place.

The next time I set foot in Cairo it won't be under the false over romanticised ramblings of a select few who believe it is an amazingly magical place to live and work (as was the case prior to arriving here last August and a few times since), but rather with first hand knowledge of exactly what it's like to live and work here as a Scottish expatriate. The city itself isn't the problem (and actually from a photographer's view, it's a dream) but rather it's the people. There are some wonderful, charming, endearing and intelligent people out here. I'm lucky enough to have encountered many of them through work, and many others through photography (the competition from last year as well as through trying (and not doing very well) to sell my work) and the small businesses around my way who work long days for very little. But in a city of 20 million, there are always going to be an extremely large amount of fuds. It's these people who are instrumental in the downfall this once great city has experienced. It's not just me that thinks this; the intelligent endearing people I was referring to earlier all have similar despondent outlooks on their beloved city. It's quite sad to hear people talk about their home like that (not one of the Egyptians I've met out here who has lived or studied in Edinburgh, my home, speaks ill of it), but at least they're honest about it and can appreciate the effort someone like me strives for in trying to fix even a few things through my work and photography. For those of you reading this who are offended by my reference to Cairo as a shithole then please don't be, unless you're one of the people who helps make it that way.

To everyone else who will miss my Cairo blips, don't worry... I'll be back here soon, and when I am, you'll definitely be able to tell from the thumbnail (yawn).

Here are my five favourite photos from the first year:

---> Market Seller

---> Citadel at Sunset

---> Captain of the Nile

---> Mr Farouk

---> Desert Camp Day Two

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.