a town called E.

By Eej

That which we call a rose ...

... by any other name would smell as sweet.



Sometimes, at work, I have to put customer orders together. It's not rocket science (though you'd be surprised how many things can and will go wrong) and it's also often intensely boring.
To keep my mind occupied I play the name-game. As I read a name and pack up their items I will make up a person, make up their life, make up their future.
Some names are so ridiculous that only a career in showbizz can save them, some names sound like they are straight out of romance novels and then there are the names that I associate with a similarly named person that I know. And 'know' could mean either read about or seen on t.v. as well :)

Recently I was playing the name-game and I came upon a name that made me think of an episode of Friends.
It would take too long to repeat the entire show, but if there are any die-hard fans reading this: it's the episode where Joey gets a job as a guide at the museum where Ross works. One of Joey's co-workers is an African-American girl who somewhere in the episode stands up and proudly says:
"My name is Rhonda and these *points at boobs* aren't real!"

So, as I was packing Rhonda's order I explained the name-game and quoted most of the episode (I'm a bit of an addict, yes) to a helping co-worker.

Fast forward a few weeks to today:
I was busy in the embroidery room this morning when I was called up to the showroom to help a customer. And could I bring her order with me?

It was Rhonda.
The odds of that happening were astronomical, so it only makes sense that it DID happen, really.

So, I grab her order, walk up front and look for the tall young African-American woman that is her.
Nothing.
I look again. Maybe she is sitting down?
Nope.
Hm.
Where IS that woman?


Then my colleague points at a Caucasian woman at the counter. Tiny. Blond. Pushing 60. That's MY Rhonda.


Curse you, Friends. And curse you, brain.



These are the roses the Beloved gave me yesterday. Orange is definitely the theme this week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.