Digging 7: FIND!

A very quick blip before my shower and going out shopping for essentials...
I finished my drain-digging in the morning under a showery sky, while chatting to T, making a rare appearance on site..
Then started to take out half of a medieval pit. It was getting quite disappointing as there was not much in it except a few sheep bones, when suddenly this popped up.

What do you mean, "What is that boring thing?" It's a groat (almost definitely) of James III (maybe). It was fascinating to observe how it started to oxidise before my very eyes. I could quite clearly see a cross dividing it into quarters as well as writing and a fancy design surrounded by more writing on the other side. Five minutes later, it was like this. You might just be able to make out the cross. It will clean up to look like this, perhaps.

A groat was 4d (pence), and the cross made it easy to chop it into the constituent pennies.

Well, another boring image, in terms of photography! I was thinking to myself that the "Digging" series would have to become occasional over the next few weeks, lest I blip 10 different blips of slightly different coloured mud (and you did nearly get one of those today!)
I hope to plan and lift SK2 tomorrow, weather permitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.