He's an eis fela really

I made it back to work today. Unfortunately I had to cross a picket line to do so, which I was gutted about. At the moment my membership of the EIS hasn't been confirmed so the union rep advised me to head into work until I had confirmation. Never mind, I'm heading up to Moray Place to sort everything out tomorrow so I've signed up to the rota to be on next Wednesdays picket line. Apparently you are only allowed six people picketing at each entrance according to the law so we need the rota.

I'm desperate to start picketing as I'm one of the ones suffering. I was on a temp contract last year and my hours are now casualised. As a result of this my hourly rate has been reduced by £6.50, I have lost my right to be in the Lothian pension fund and I've losty a chunk of my holiday pay entitlement. despite all that I'm still doing exactly the same job in a position which I know for a fact the college has always had difficulty filling.

This is a colleague of mine who was picketing and agreed to have his photo taken. I did say I was putting it on blip but I'd better mail him and show him the page anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.