Relief

This is a series of shots taken with a 35mm lens reversed. Welcome to the world of reverse ring maco photography hpx :-)

Using it I got the same thrill the first time I looked through a 10 + macro lensbaby and before that a microsope. It opens up an impossibly beautiful world of wonder.

Relief
noun
1. The easing of a burden or distress, such as pain, anxiety, or oppression.
2. Something that alleviates pain or distress.
3. The projection of figures or forms from a flat background, as in sculpture, or the apparent projection of such shapes in a painting or drawing.
4. Geology and geography. The variations in elevation of an area of the earth's surface.
8. Distinction or prominence due to contrast

I think today that's what begun to hit me, relief. Yesterday I spoke with my cousin who prescribed the detox for me (and tweaked the elimination diet Nina suggested). She and I are both surprised with the functional gains I've made and how I'm feeling. She's confident I'll keep them so long as the various biochemical pathways don't go into overload again. Maybe that scalpel will fade away, maybe I'll be able to further reduce the meds I'm prescribed. I prefer good food as my drug.

Today's blip is a series of close ups of the relief of a beaten copper art work that hangs at the top of my stairs. I was quite young when Mum and Dad returned from Sydney with this heavy and impressive piece. For years it hung above the fireplace. I could see landscapes and faces in it.I was impressed my parents could cope with an abstract piece of art. I spent a very happy I-don't-know-how-long, lying on the floor lost in my own little world of wonder taking photos of it. I love seeing the markings the artist made on the copper as he/she made it. They are indeed evocative of landscapes and faces.

That painting I needed to attend to in the loft also has a relief theme to it. Though that wasn't what I thought I needed to express when I started. I'm still getting my head around it but I've hung it on the wall and so far I like the serendipitous connections between the various meanings of relief. I can always take it down again ;-)

I won't linger much longer. My cousin reminded me my body it doing some pretty heavy duty releasing this week. I've mostly lounged and slept this afternoon. My body has appreciated it and it's keen for more.

Tonight I feel I am one very fortunate and blessed woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.