hpx

By hpx

Just what the Dr ordered

I awoke this morning with a strong yearning to be out of the city and in the hills. It soon became apparent that today was a very different day than the rest of the week has been. My system behaved itself and consequently I felt quite different and moved with ease and very little discomfort. Rather than walk around the street in the city why not drive up the Port Hills and walk there?

Outside the city was grey, cold and damp with fog but I figured up on the hills would be above the fog and in the sun. I prefer the southern end of the hills - beyond the Sign of the Bellbird and on past Cass Peak. There are few people around and the landscape has more open space and less frozen, slippery south faces (well beyond me at pressent). There is also less traffic at that end and I knew if I felt in any doubt about using the track I could always walk safely on the side of the road.

I had no expectations of myself other than to be out there, above the fog, out of the city and in solitude. It was absolutely fantastic! This is the first time I've been out of the city in months. I wandered along, took no risks and had the most wonderful time imaginable. It went surprisingly well as this was the first time I've negotiated uneven ground. I think I had an ear to ear grin the whole time :-)

Beneath me under the fog was a city of 300,000 people. I saw no one else on the track, a couple of runners and a handfull of runners on the road beneath, and two cars.

I've rested all afternoon and feel very pleased with my conservative and successful venture out.

This has been the absolute best tonic for my mind, body and soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.