How to give Nana a scare

"Dear Nana, I am having a good time. I had fun in the snow on the sledge. We saw the big cloud of black smoke come out of this mountain".

My sister's card is the top one. Her classic line is "...We saw the mountain blowing up and at first I was a bit scared".

Yep, I imagine that was enough to scare my dear Nana ;-)

Mine is the bottom postcard. If you look closely you'll notice I included an arrow for added emphasis (just in case Nana missed the point ;-) I love that.

My cousin sent me several postcard rescued years ago when Nana was shifted into a home. Nana kept most things, postcards included. I imagine they brought her must joy (though maybe not these ones ;-)

Growing up we had regular winter trips to the snow in the Central Plateau, in the North Island. There are 3 prominent peaks in Tongariro National Park, Ruapeahu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro. The former two are active volcanoes.

One day one our way back to Turangi we stopped for afternoon tea close to the base of Ngauruhoe. I can't work out how old I was but looking at my writing I'm guessing around 6 or 7 years old. Suddenly there was an incredibly roar and shaking that seemed to be all around us. There before our eyes Ngaurohoe was erupting! My parents wasted no time in chucking gear into the back of the car and rounding kids into the back seat.

Only I wasn't too keen on being rounded up and leaving. I was awed and fascinated. I remember Dad was none too impressed with my tardiness. I think that was the moment my love affair was earth sciences was born. The next day as we headed to Ruapeahu. black impressively streaked the snow of Ngaurohoe with puffs of steam and gasses still evident.

My creativity is directed at a painting today. Something inside needs to be expressed on canvas so I've let my thoughts trail in that direction. Once my canvas was prepared I discovered whatever it is within, required texture. I've been waiting for it to dry. Now I can snuck back up into the loft and let fly.

I'll catch up with tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.