Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Flying Vulcan

The last day of birthday celebrations involved me & my friend Scharwenka going to the Royal International Air Tattoo at Fairford. It was a fabulous day, and we were extremely lucky to get great weather!

The day of the airshow is perhaps the ONE day of the year that I WOULD like to have a posh camera with a long bit attached (and the knowledge of how to work the thing), and, prior to blipfoto, it was probably the ONLY day of the year on which I would be guaranteed to take a photo. In fact, before I had the digital camera, it was the only day I'd ever change a roll of film and take enough pictures to be worth having them processed!

I took plenty of pictures at the show and was spoilt for choice when it came to blips. Among the contenders were pictures of men with big cameras, Spitfires, Harriers, a beloved Lancaster, a terrifically exciting Raptor, Patrouille de France, Red Arrows, etc etc. However, most loved of all, and with a spectacular effect on the crowd, I had to blip the wonderful Vulcan, XH558, the only flying Vulcan in existence.

I first saw her fly "in the flesh" last year - you can read the story of that day here if you are interested. I haven't managed to write up or sort the photos from this year's show yet, but I wanted to get my blip posted anyway!

The display was fantastic, and the sound of her engines and her stunningly gorgeous shape looked fantastic against the sky, which had even turned blue for us. Martin Withers, a great hero of mine was at the controls again, which was absolutely fantastic!

So here, I present one of the great loves of my life. I think she's unspeakably beautiful and I really really hope we can keep her flying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.