Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

I Picture the Moon

Saturday's blip shows the first trial of the new Fujifilm camera's super-zoom and the subject was the moon. A few people asked how? So here I oblige...

I first thought the standard 30x optical zoom that the HS10 comes with would be enough. But then I remembered owning a Sony 1.7x tele-conveter lens for another digital camera I own. The new camera just happens to have the same 58mm fitting, so it had to be added as more is better in these things (trust me you heard it from a committed borderline gadget geek).

The optics on the HS10 produce surprisingly good results and the Sony lens is highly rated too. This combined with a reasonably capable sensor, produced some really quite reasonable close-up shots.

The tripod was an essential to avoid camera shake (using the delayed self timer on 10s). Images are otherwise fuzzy at best and a blurry mess missing the moon completely at worst.

I hope you like it. Oh by the way, the trike is an addition to the picture, dreamt up by my younger daughter at the last minute, I'm assured to add dramatic effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.