Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Patriotic Phone

I woke up this morning troubled by what I was going to shoot today. With temperatures in the mid 90s, I am kind of restricted to about a half-mile radius of the house.

Just like German fighter planes during the Second World War could only protect the bombers over London for 30 minutes, I am restricted to window of similar proportions before my shirt becomes like a wet rag clinging to my body. And 30 minutes is not all that long of a time to uncover some photographic gem.

It was during coffee and a cigarette on the back deck that I suddenly recalled a picture I took on Friday that became superseded by something better, allegedly. :-)

Having something tenative in mind gave me a greater sense of purpose and, of course, me being me, I ended up photographing several other things. So much for my initial fears. :-)

Public telephones are becoming increasingly rare these days as the whole world seems to have a cell phone. I am beginning to think newborn babies are presented with one just moments after birth.

I do not own a cell phone and never have. There is little point in me ever getting one since I do not know anyone to call. If I need to contact my wife during the day, I do so by e-mail. Sometimes I even get a reply. :-)

I think not owning a cell phone was perhaps one of the reasons why I was initially drawn to this pay phone and the bonus was the way it was decorated with the stars and stripes.

"Oh, say can you see..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.