Ireland - cancelled

What an utterly s**t 24 hours that has been.

IDIOT boy (see yesterday, and linked blip in yesterday's) kept on partying till 5.30 this morning. I managed about 3 hours sleep. James was woken by them kicking off loudly at 5.30, he managed to doze a bit then got up at 6am. We'd managed to get to sleep around 3ish, much the worse the wear for wine, and I was woken at the same time as James. IDIOT BOY and his equally idiotic friends caused a huge disturbance on our street last night, but I think it is significant that not one of us rang the police. Scared of repercussions.

So, anyway, we got up early, 8am, got packed up and got on our way at 9.15. We made fantastic time and along the way, Corin commented on how much better the car was running following it's service last Monday. We got to Holyhead and as we were pulling up to the traffic lights to turn right into the port, we smelled diesel, and lots of it, but we assumed that maybe it was a spill. Then suddenly, smokes starts pouring from under the bonnet and the car starts to fill with it. Windows open, pulled over into the nearest place and jumped out of the car.

Fortunately, we had pulled into the grounds of a haulage garage, and so the fellas came over, had a look and quickly the problem became apparent - a tiny hairline fracture of one of the fuel injector pipes - must have just split as we pulled up to the lights. The engine was soaked in diesel which was then 'burning' off.

Rang our roadside assistance. E.T.A -- 3 hours. We knew we were going to miss our ferry, so I rang and rescheduled for 9.30 this evening. Cost me £60 to do so. Then we found a cafe, drank lots of tea and had a wander round Holyhead in the very special and insidious drizzle that was falling.

RAC man arrived around 2pm ...he was fantastic, but the job was not a roadside fix. No way of getting a courtesy/hire car in time to get back to the port. Only choice - abandon all thoughts of getting to Ireland and get towed back home. Utterly utterly gutted.

Everyone we have encountered on our disastrous day today has been helpful, kind and understanding of our situation, even though we have not been able to resolve it properly. It does restore my faith in human nature a little bit.

No refunds on the ferry trip though. Have to claim that via my travel insurance. Have to arrange for the car to be taken to our Mazda dealership on Monday and get it fixed by Friday so that I know it is here and ready for after our trip to Spain. Have to unpack. Have to sleep.

Trying not to cry!

So today was supposed to be "I" words...but forgive me for the lack of them - Ireland was all that I (and we) wanted today, that and IDIOT BOY somehow being made to pay for his inconsiderate, ignorant behaviour. Instead, I am now just irritable and ill-tempered. Tonight I think I might imbibe some wine. This whole situation is quite imponderable!

I am grateful that my car didn't ignite - we met someone at the recovery depot who had the same kind of smoke pouring out of their engine, but when they returned from the short walk to the AA phone, came back and found that their car was on fire and is now a write-off - so it could have been worse.

Just gutted.

This is my poor, 12 month old vehicle, on the back of the truck, with James climbing back into it - we stopped at the depot to pick up a second vehicle that was coming back to Manchester - it was towed behind the truck and mine was left on the top. When we got to the depot I was in utter agony, after not having been to the loo since about 12pm ...it was 4ish...it hurt. Incontinence is not an"I" word that I wanted to experience today...close!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.