John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Smith Family Cemetery

This small cemetery contains barely a dozen tombstones, apparently all for members of the Smith family--of whom John Smith seems to have been the head. Those buried here appear to have lived in the 1800s.

The cemetery is just a mile or so from Brookland, the family property in Tamworth, New Hampshire, where my wife and I stayed to to attend a memorial service on Saturday--a profoundly moving occasion. As far as I know, the Smiths were not related to my family.

Tamworth is a wonderfully rural area, blessedly distant from main arteries of travel, even now, where many members of my mother's family have been residing and spending summers at least since the early 1800s.

I've backblipped images from my two-week Galapagos trip. If you're interested, either start with a preliminary hummingbird outing on 5 July, or begin on the 20th and work back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.