Dame Street, evening

It's taken a while to arrange, but tonight saw a bit of a get-together to celebrate my friend Niall's life. A good gang turned up in a pub in town to chat about him, exchange stories, look at photos taken during the course of his life, and generally remember him. It got a little bit emotional from time to time, but we managed to keep things up-beat for the main part and there was certainly more laughter than tears. As I said myself, nobody who knew Niall will ever forget him. I miss him, but his memory will live on.

All of that was between 6.00 and 9.00 pm. I'd taken a few photographs during the evening, but none could be considered Blip material or suitable for use here, so I was in a bit of a panic as I walked along Dame Street on my way to get the bus home. I've always been intrigued by this building on the corner of Dame Street and Fownes Street (close to the Central Bank). I'm not sure what its history is, but it's definitely on the preservation list, having remained essentially untouched through all the changes of use it's gone through. It's a fine old warrior, and makes an especially good display at evening time when floodlit.

I only had a short time to wait for my bus, so wasn't too late getting to bed, still full of memories of Niall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.