Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

New life

A few weeks ago my son phoned me to say that the duck that had been sitting on 13 eggs in his garden in York had been taken and was now in kit form in next doors garden.
What should he do??
Along comes Mim at lunch time.
The eggs were stone cold, no chance of any life there! I took them home in a box, put some straw in it and covered them with a heat pad and left them on the spare bed. I sprinkled them with water and turned them as and when I remembered. For any one who doesn't know, incubating eggs at home is an exact science, the humidity must be correct and they must be turned every day, less than this and they are doomed. Also once eggs have gone cold the process of incubation should stop.
HA!! Not in this case.

This morning, on what would have been my Dad's 100th birthday, I thought I should take a look as I hadn't done so for a couple of days. As I opened the lid I was spied by this little one........shock did not come into it, over the next 24hrs three more arrived.
I named the first one Ted after my Dad

Meet Ted.

Quack Quack

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.