Gossamer Wings

Today was my workshop on photographing butterflies, dragonflies, and damselflies...an interesting by exhausting workshop that began at 8 am and ended at 4:30 pm. The morning session was sitting, listening, and learning about the critters and how to photograph them. The afternoon involved a lot of walking, observing, and blipping. I learned more than I have the energy left to tell you about, but here are a few tidbits of information:

~When you experiment with new settings on your camera, you don't get very many keepers.

~Dragonflies are carnivorous. They eat other insects, even their own species.

~Nikon raw files won't open in Photoshop Elements, even though the instructor insisted they would. Hmmmm? What do I need to get these files to open?

~Butterflies are active on overcast and more or less dreary days, but dragonflies aren't. On a day like this, they hunker down (the instructor's term) and don't come out to get their picture taken. However, if the sun should decide to come out, so will the dragonflies, and that's how I got this blip at the very end of the afternoon when everyone else had gone home.

The workshop continues in two weeks with a sharing session where we will get our pictures critiqued and have the opportunity to see how well everyone did with the assignment. Wish me luck. I have to choose 10 image files to email to him for the critique.

Now I am going to bed. The insects wore me out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.