a town called E.

By Eej

Slugfest

When the Beloved told me last week that we have a few slugs in the garden where the waterhose comes out of the ground I nodded and went on with whatever it was my brain was doing. So, when I walked past it today and saw a big ochre mess of slug I may have yelped a bit.

I'm not scared of slugs; they move too slow to form any kind of threat. Even to me, proverbial wuss. I do think they are rather unattractive, as is their slime (though sparkly!), and staring at them for too long makes me itchy.
But, since I was too tired to stake out the hummingbirds at the buddleia or the feeder, I went down on my knees, butt in the air, to take some slug macros.

I then found I was almost kneeling in a lair o'slugs. And a firefly with an identity crisis hanging out with them.

All in all, twas good fun :)

Our nice neighbour Dale asked if we wanted their old treadmill, and we said 'yes please!', so I'm typing this accompanied by the sound of the Beloved sweating squeaking walking. Which is distracting, so I'm keeping it short. ish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.