Did I miss something?

You know when you're come into a film half way through and something happens that people who have been watching since the start recognize and respond to and you just don't get it?

That's how I feel about this whole Raoul Moat thing that is still cropping up in the papers. I found myself with a copy of a red top paper which was reporting about some woman from Surrey that used her benefit money to take 3 (of her 8!?!) kids to the funeral of this guy with whom they had no connection. There's been the Facebook things, the media stories and I even seen graffitti with his name scrawled in places.

I just can't work out why people are responding to him in the way they are and if anyone can explain the motives of these people that are idolizing him, I'd be grateful. What did he do that was any different from all the other murders that don't make the news as much as he has.

There was also that taxi driver dude recently that went running amok but he's all but disappeared from the media and his crimes were even worse.

It feels like I was out of the country when the story broke and everyone knows something I don't. I really just can't understand the motivation behind his adoration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.