The World

I blipped a visiting cruise before, but The Crown Princess pales into insignificance compared to Dublin's current visitor. This The World, an absolute monster of a ship which apparently offers permanent onboard living quarters for anyone so inclined. Could you imagine! A floating hotel is bad enough, but a floating hotel which is actually your home!! I'd hate it.

Two things are strange about this visitor: (1) It's moored right beside the Point Theatre (again, I refuse to use the name of the mobile service provided who've been granted naming rights), which is a most unusual occurrence, and (2) it isn't the only floating visitor in town right now. The Westerdam is also in town, there in the same spot as the June visitor. (Perhaps it's because the normal mooring is occupied that The World is where it is - though I doubt it: I'm sure the owners know exactly what they're about and wanted to moor as close as possible to the city centre.)

Anyway, there was a real buzz around the Point and the Easy Link, made all the greater because the big wheel which was formerly in Belfast has now been erected in the grounds of The Point and is bound to attract crowds. Indeed, I'm sure it will also attract more than a few blippers, including yours truly, no doubt.

Being out and about was thanks to having finished the latest updates to the web site I'm working on. I went over to visit Carl's mother in Caritas Convalescence Home after lunch (she's in great form and came to the door with me when I left, and out into the garden for a bit of a walk with her new hip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.