Emptied carafe

After all the hassle, the guy I've been working on the website for turned up trumps this afternoon. Unlike the other 'friends' for whom I did a 'favour' and who ended up being ridiculously demanding and difficult, Bernard knows how to show his appreciation for work done. We agreed a price at the outset, and he paid half the agreed amount when we reached a stage where that was appropriate. We finally got to the stage this morning where there were only a few tiny little tweaks to be implemented, and he suggested that we meet for a drink so that he could hand over the balance.

We met. Bernard handed over an envelope. I went to put it in my pocket without opening it (which I thought was the appropriate thing to do). He asked me to count the money to make sure it was okay, and that's when I found that the envelope contained not just the other half of the agreed fee but the total fee. My jaw dropped, and he said I should consider the earlier payment as a bonus! He thanked me for my efforts and for my patience with all the recent changes.

Now that's what I call the perfect client!

We met in the Yacht pub on the Clontarf Road. I walked there from home, telling Bernard that I needed the exercise and that I might catch a blip in the process. I got a good selection in the can, including this possible tribute to raheny_eye. There was another tribute, this time to some special people via an ad on a bus stop, and there was also this strange banner on the way to The Yacht (Spinning classes? How do spinning classes make you fit?).

Eventually, though, today's blip had to be this one. Back home on a bit of a high with the payment burning a hole in my pocket I decided I deserved a bit of personal indulgence. So I went to Kinara restaurant. It was okay. My Aloo Tikki starter was bland and uninteresting, and the main course of Palak Ghost was on the dry side, lacking in sauce, and (despite having asked for it to be made hot rather than the 'mild' which is apparently standard for all dishes) also lacking in spicy punch. The wine was nice, and the tea was served in an interesting teapot.

Nothing could put a damper on Bernard's generous gesture, though. I'm still smiling and glowing inside. Well done, Bernard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.