The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Greens and black

Today was going to be a departure from landscapes, I was going to do my first life.turns. The image was taken, but I had trouble uploading. Then we had to make a visit to Lancaster, so I abandoned it. On the way home, massive black clouds were gathering east of the M6 and there was a bright rainbow that we could not stop to photograph.

When we were off the motorway, we managed to catch this view of illuminated green fields against a blackening sky. I've been noticing over the last few days how the fields that have been recently cut for silage have turned an almost luminous green as the grass rapidly responds to the cut as well as benefitting from recent rainfall after the early summer drought.

Blipfoto is having an influence. To someone who has always taken photos of flowers and natural habitats, a photograph of a bright green, heavily fertilsed field would have been unthinkable. After all, it's an ecological desert. But I can see now how striking a feature it can be in the landscape.

When it came to uploading the blip, it was a difficult choice because I later took a large number of photos of the bay from Arnside, some with the most amazing reflections of clouds (here). This time I have gone against Wifie's advice and stuck with the bright green fields (though now she tells me that I misheard her, she is after all infallible).

I shall be away tomorrow for a couple of days, and shall be out of blipping contact. So if you have read this far, please look out for the back-blips on Weds next week.

Post script: I forgot, 21 today. I've come of age as a blipper.

Post script 2. Ecological note: the field in the foreground shows an avoidance mosaic, cattle avoid grazing around their cowpats, and the grass gets away in longer patches, no doubt benefitting from the added nutrients.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.