White......

Pearly Everlasting -

And the light, ever changing,
is the defining kiss.

Those Days.

When I think of her I think of the long summer days
she lay in the sun, how she loved the sun, how we
spread our blanket, and friends came, and

the dogs played, and then I would get restless and
get up and go off to the woods
and the fields, and the afternoon would

soften gradually and finally I would come
home, through the long shadows, and into the house
where she would be

my glorious welcoming, tan and hungry and ready to tell
the hurtless gossips of the day and how I
listened leisurely while i put

around the room flowers in jars of water -
daisies, butter-and-eggs and everlasting -
until like our lives they trembled and shimmered
everywhere.

Mary Oliver


This is proving to be a most interesting and compelling experience for me!

I had in mind the image I was looking for, I had seen it the other day, it evoked a feeling of love and eternity, and loyalty and somehow also a strange sense of loss, and longing.....I can't explain it other than it all fell together, after an hour of reading different poems, searching for something I couldn't put my finger on, the moment I reread the above poem.....Mary Oliver's long time love and partner, Molly Malone Cook, died a few years ago, and her latest book of poetry, Thirst, was written after her passing. There are poems in that book that give me chills, such deeply felt emotions! I'm leaning, once more, the value in trusting your instincts, knowing how to identify that "ah ha moment".....and accept it!

So, I know that Scorpiankiss and besideherself will be more than fine with another wonderful Mary Oliver poem.....and I also can never get enough of this woman's astonishing passion for life!

The series is being collected here!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.